“We Are In Hell When We Hurt Each Other” (ft. Patrick Belaga) OUT NOW

Jacolby Satterwhite by Matthew Placek

Jacolby Satterwhite by Matthew Placek

PAT is the collaboration between visual artist Jacolby Satterwhite and musician Nick Weiss (one-half of Teengirl Fantasy). PAT takes its name from Satterwhite’s mother Patricia, who suffered from schizophrenia and died in 2016. She left behind hundreds of a capella recordings on cassette tapes as well as abstract drawings of home goods, such as wet wipes, sugar cubes, and toothbrushes. Incorporating her recordings into their work, Satterwhite and Weiss remixed and manipulated Patricia’s voice into propulsive, electronic dance tracks featuring a range collaborators (tracklist below). The first of the posthumous releases is the haunting, hypnotically beautiful song “We Are In Hell When We Hurt Each Other” featuring Patrick Belaga from forthcoming full-length double LP + book Love Will Find A Way Home out October 25, 2019 on Pioneer Works Press

Jacolby Satterwhite is an American contemporary artist who works with video, performance, 3D animation, fibers, drawing and printmaking, currently based in New York City, NY.  His work has been shown globally in major institutions, shows and galleries including Smithsonian, The New Museum, Art Basel, Moma, The Whitney, ICA Boston, SF Moma, The Seattle Art Museum, The Studio in Harlem, The Brooklyn Museum, Dallas Museum of Art, Walker Art Center and a host of others. He has won awards, fellowships, and visiting artist residencies at Yale, Berkley, Cal Arts and more.

 He most recently worked with Solange, who created a massive visual album to accompany her new record When I Get Home, enlisting Satterwhite to serve as one of the project’s contributing directors, resulting in a wildly surreal, 3D animated visual detour. Satterwhite's work in dance performance draws from voguing, martial arts, and choreographer William Forsythe's dance techniques. Inspired by projects like Tricky’s album Maxinequay, which, like Love Will Find A Way Home, is based partly on the artist’s relationship with their deceased mother, and Daft Punk’s feature-length animated film Interstella 5555, which was released with their recording Discovery, Love Will Find a Way Home will coincide with Satterwhite’s Pioneer Works exhibition You’re at home, opening on October 4, 2019.

“We Are In Hell When We Hurt Each Other” features cover art by Wolfgang Tillmans and a booklet containing Patricia’s lyrics and drawings, as well as images of the cassette tapes and ephemera she left behind. Love Will Find A Way Home is, like Interstella 5555, similarly multi-pronged; it is both a fully-produced album of its own and a score for a related, four-part animated series of films, Birds in Paradise.

Love Will Find A Way Home cover artwork by Wolfgang Tillmans

Love Will Find A Way Home cover artwork by Wolfgang Tillmans


Love Will Find A Way Home Tracklist

1. Moments of Silence
2. We Are In Hell When We Hurt Each Other (ft. Patrick Belaga)
3. Birds in Paradise (ft. Patrick Belaga)
4. Born 2 Be Free
5. Spirits Roaming on the Earth
6. Model It (ft. David Casavant & Patrick Belaga)
7. Heart and Mind Connections (ft. Lafawndah)
8. Rain Vs Sunshine (ft. Alissa Brianna & Patrick Belaga)
9. Blessed Ave (ft. Brody Blomqvist)
10. Second Time Around (ft. Kindness, Alissa Brianna, & Cedric Antonio)
11. Because Love Came (ft. Patrick Belaga)
12. Love Will Find A Way Home
13. You're At Home
14. I Will Never Go Back



Jacolby Satterwhite
Instagram / Twitter / Facebook

Nick Weiss
Instagram / SoundCloud / Facebook

St. Paul